Superior Spider-Man #1
Avengers vs X-Men #12
Avengers vs X-Men #7 - #11
Avengers vs X-Men #6
Avengers vs X-Men #5
Avengers vs X-Men #4
Avengers vs X-Men #3

Avengers vs X-Men #2
Avengers vs X-Men #1
Avengers vs X-Men #0
Action Comics #7
Action Comics #4
Action Comics #3
Justice League #3
Justice League #2
Red Lanterns #3
Batman #1
Batman #2
Detective Comics #2
Red Lanterns #2
Action Comics #2
Justice League #1
Detective Comics #1
Red Lanterns #1
Action Comics #1
Stormwatch #1
Swamp Thing #1
arrowWorld War Hulk

World War Hulk
The Le (07/28/2009)
 Page:  1  2   

World War Hulk ReviewAfter being shot into space by the Illuminati, Hulk landed on planet Sakaar where he became a hero, found a wife, and had a child. However, the spacecraft that brought him exploded and killed everyone he loved and half the planet. With his Warbound allies by his side, Hulk came back to Earth seeking revenge. And so begins my World War Hulk review!

The Hulk was angry to be shot in space, but he found complete happiness, then it was all taken away from him -- I'd want some payback too (especially with all the extra power). You see, when his spacecraft exploded above Saakaar, Hulk became extremely powerful thanks to the tasty radiation he absorbed, so taking out his first opponent (Black Bolt) was easy. Each issue follows the same pattern: action packed from start to finish, but not very deep. This isn't necessarily a bad thing as long as you treat it like a summer popcorn movie. Personally I loved the carnage -- there's nothing more satisfying than seeing the Hulk unleash his full might on Black Bolt, Iron Man, Dr. Strange, Sentry, Mr. Fantastic, the U.S. Army, and a host of others.

With this in mind, World War Hulk was actually a very fun read. John Romita Jr. did some great artwork here, making Hulk flow from panel to panel with every punch. I was actually surprised since I’ve never been a Romita Jr fan. There were two things that really impressed me about Romita with this book: he knows how to keep a deadline, and he knows how to make the Hulk beat the crap out of everyone.

There's only five issues of WWH, but it's great fun, and I recommend it. Unfortunately the last couple pages is where it all goes horribly wrong.

For the entire run the reader is steered towards the Hulk, taking his side and cheering him on. It’s clear the Illuminati wasn’t at fault for blowing up the ship, but that doesn’t matter since the readers don’t care who’s responsible – it’s all a misunderstanding between the two sides... but that’s what makes it so ironic and plausible!

 Page:  1  2   

Your Comments:
hulk defeted black bolt because hulk is like more than three times more powerful than usual!

Posted by: no on 11/30/2011 5:13:56 AM
WHoa Whoa Whoa... I never read WWH, but he beat Black Bolt??? Oh, come on! Black Bolt could annihilate him just by whispering. Since when can a dumb cluck like Hulk KO Black Bolt?? That's just pathetic...

Posted by: Owlman166 on 10/26/2010 2:36:58 PM
Although i liked the idea i felt it was pulled off poorly, like most things Hulk(with the exception of the last film) i expected more and was left feeling a little let down by it all.

Posted by: Ste on 6/25/2010 11:20:09 PM
Feh. I never liked the idea of WWH anyway. Too much mindless carnage and violence for the sake of mindless carnage and violence. Its only saving grace was the reemergence of the wonderful Amadeus Cho character and the chapter in which he explains just how Hulk's MIND and inner morality is just as incredible as his physical might.

Posted by: Rurouni KJS on 8/1/2009 11:09:52 PM
Thank you for the synopsis. Now I know how World War Hulk fits into Planet Hulk.

Posted by: lunar on 8/1/2009 9:35:55 AM
Good article. I actually want to read it now since I don't know who the "friend" was. Was it Miek he looks like a sniveling punk. I knew Hulk handed out a whipping to the Marvel U but had no idea the expanse of his anger. So at the end before Hulk deals the death blow his buddy turns to him and risks the Hulks rage?

Posted by: jarosa on 8/1/2009 9:14:52 AM
Naturally the Hulk couldn't stay on another planet. Naturally he couldn't stay happy. He has to be the misunderstood brutish victim who we cheer as he finally lashes out and makes things break. I understand all that.
But why on earth does he need armor and a weapon???? He can crush tanks with his hands?

Posted by: Tom price on 7/30/2009 4:06:06 PM
Great article, interesting review.

Posted by: AlienFlanders on 7/29/2009 8:00:05 PM
HA! We made the same comment at the comic book store after the last book came out...take the entire page where u find out who the real culprit is and u still have a great book. That entire page should be redone by a different writer and artist team just to give it a better "What If?!?" story. A cheap ending to a great story not only devalues the original moral dilemma the Hulk was going through but it almost allows or unintentionally forgives those responsible for sending him away in the first place...too bad. Could have been perfect, without that cheesy ending. Good example of a Hulk series with a good ending is "Future Imperfect". You can get that as a won't be sorry...and it will almost take the bitterness from the World War Hulk fiasco. Nuff Said!

Posted by: Mocker on 7/29/2009 11:59:40 AM
Absolutely agree with this assessment. This was an incredible series that had so much promise and was so much fun, but they just didn't know how to land the plane. This is my exact sentiment about WWH, CW and especially Secret Invasion. Good call.

Posted by: bigdaddyhub on 7/29/2009 11:22:38 AM
It's funny that you compared the ending to that of Civil War. I thought the exact same thing.

Posted by: JDKenada on 7/29/2009 8:56:36 AM
Interesting take on it. I'd had enough other more fundamental problems with the piece (ranging from still not being happy that Marvel allowed Bendis to retcon the Illuminati into existence, to still finding Sentry to be another obnoxious imposition by Bendis) that the story's trapdoor didn't strike me quite the same way. The revelation made sense to me, as it would have been out of character (even given the degree to which Bendis was already bending characters to his will in the mainstream) for any of those responsible for exiling the Hulk to [b]allow[/b] for the ship to explode so hugely, much less rig it to actually explode.

The only thing the Illuminati would have wanted to do would have been to disable the ship following its arrival to their planned destination so that even Hulk's alter ego would be unlikely to fix it, and there are easier ways of doing that. Systems that, once triggered, would have released strategic acid baths near key circuits and even unshielded lumps of Antarctic vibranium, that would have proceeded to quickly degrade the metal. If I can come up with that off the top of my head I assure you someone at the level of Reed would do at least as well.

So, while I have problems with the arc mine are more at a fundamental level, and while I can agree that we've all been played for fools I can't agree on the reason. Still, an interesting take.

---MJN (Miraclo)

Posted by: Miraclo on 7/29/2009 8:10:05 AM
I surely will read this five books cause all the big names you tell, it hold my attention. But marvel seems more talking than action for now on and i hope it won't affect Hulk book's too.

Posted by: oglim on 7/28/2009 10:38:19 PM
An excellent review! I was forced to give up my comics habit, and the "spoiler" ending just confirms why Marvel ain't so Marvelous these days. (Still wish I could keep up with the Lanterns, though.)

Posted by: MuskieLodge on 7/28/2009 7:06:15 PM

Posted by: Charlie on 7/28/2009 1:42:57 PM
I my self am not a fan of John Romita Jr. He uses too many lines and squares evreything off.

Posted by: JOE on 7/28/2009 1:24:15 PM
During Planet Hulk they do show Hulk's ship being sabotaged by his friend. I will admit WWH's ending was very lame. Great review.

Posted by: Killersavage on 7/28/2009 12:00:55 PM
After how great I thought Planet Hulk was, this was kind of a letdown for me.

Posted by: srsjuiceman on 7/28/2009 11:12:42 AM
For Charlie, from Wiki:
In "Planet Hulk" the Illuminati considers the Hulk an unacceptable potential risk to Earth, and rocket him into space to live a peaceful existence on a planet uninhabited by intelligent life. After a trajectory malfunction, the Hulk crashes on the violent planet Sakaar. The Hulk becomes a rebel leader and later usurps Sakaar's throne through combat with the red king and his armies.

After Hulk's rise to emperor, the vessel used to send Hulk to Sakaar explodes, killing millions in Sakaar's capital, including his pregnant queen, Caiera, and the damage to the tectonic plates nearly destroys the planet.

The Hulk, enraged, returns to Earth with the remnants of Sakaar's citizens, and his allies, the Warbound, seeking retribution against the Illuminati.

Posted by: The Le on 7/28/2009 10:48:04 AM
So at one point did his rocket explode? After he had already been there and was trying to leave? I'm confused.

Posted by: Charlie on 7/28/2009 10:38:14 AM
I pretty much agree with the review here. The beginning of the story was great and the build-up was very well done. The ending just sucked. It made me mad I bought the whole series and quite frankly is a reason I've got no desire to reread the story. We, as readers, obviously knew that something was going to happen to make it end without any major repercussions, but this ending seemed uninspired.
I will also second the kudos to JRJR for his art on this series. He's always been great at page layout and I'm glad that this event was able to showcase him to a wider audience.

Posted by: Granite Moose on 7/28/2009 9:29:54 AM
Thank God this wasn't a review of that abysmal dial that almost rivaled how bad this story was at the end.
a GOod Fair evenhanded Review the only thing worse than this is the current Run of HULK with RULK

Posted by: Cooper99 on 7/28/2009 9:29:02 AM
Have you read the Mini Marvels take on WWH in the Newer Fantastic Four What If...? After being disappointed by the outcome of the real thing, I thought the Mini version was a fun read.

Also, I've heard arguments that the final showdown should have been between Thor and Hulk rather than Sentry and Hulk, after which I've agreed. But then, I'm not much of a Sentry fan either.

Posted by: Space Jawa on 7/28/2009 5:23:35 AM
I like romita jr's artwork, but I really think he outdid himself with this story. I agree the story could have been better, but the fights (especially with the Sentry) just exploded of the pages.

Posted by: Henk on 7/28/2009 5:11:26 AM
Yeah it was a very disappointing follow up to Planet Hulk, which was a great read.

Posted by: Mr_Nobody on 7/28/2009 2:45:12 AM